Cheesecake Ice Cream

September 12, 2010 at 8:08 AM | Posted in I am creative., Sometimes I cook. | 1 Comment
Tags:

Have you had Rebecca’s strawberry cheesecake frozen yogurt? No? Well, you’re missing out. It is GOOD. It is so good that it’s inspirational, i.e. “I’ll make cheesecake ice cream too!” That thought lingered in my head next to ideas of what else I could swirl in* besides strawberry coulis until, as luck would have it, we had leftover spiced chocolate sauce in the fridge. That did it — I was on a mission. My goal was two-fold: Make ice cream that tasted like cheesecake and do it with what I had on hand.

First, I thought I would just swap the yogurt for sour cream. Then I planned to swap the milk for half-and-half (since I had some in the fridge left over from making dulce de leche ice cream). Then I thought, You know, I’d like to add some eggs. I started looking up other recipes for guidance and found several with promise. I jotted down the ingredients and got to cookin’.

This ice cream tastes just like cheesecake. JUST LIKE IT. We ate it with the spiced chocolate syrup and decided that wasn’t a good combination. Bill said, “I like the chocolate sauce and I like the ice cream but I don’t like them together.” Yep, that’s how I felt too. I might try it with some Trader Joe’s lemon curd but, quite honestly, I like it plain just like I like my cheesecake.

********

Cheesecake Ice Cream

8 oz. Neufchâtel cheese (or cream cheese, I suppose)
16 oz. light sour cream (or regular sour cream, I suppose)
1 c. half-and-half
3 egg yolks
1¼ c. sugar
2 Tbsp. vanilla extract

1. Scald the half-and-half in a saucepan over medium heat.

2. Beat together thoroughly the Neufchâtel cheese, egg yolks, and sugar.

3. Add some of the hot half-and-half to the Neufchâtel mixture a small amount at a time with stirring to temper the eggs. Reduce heat to low.

4. Add the slightly warmed Neufchâtel mixture to the saucepan and return to low heat. Heat gently with constant stirring for ~10 minutes. Delight in the smell of cheesecake-y custard but resist the urge to dip your finger in — it’s HOT!

5. Strain the custard mixture into a bowl and stir in the sour cream. Once incorporated, mix in the vanilla extract.

6. Chill in the fridge for several hours. Freeze in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s directions. Harden in the freezer for several more hours. Serve with your choice of topping.

NOTE: This ice cream is scoop-able consistency right out of the freezer.

SPACE

*I decided not to swirl in anything after all. I wanted to give plain cheesecake ice cream a go at least once, plus each member of the household could customize his/her serving with a desired amount of chocolate sauce.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. […] it’s summer and I have ice cream on the brain. I’ve made cheesecake ice cream before so I figured goat cheese ice cream wasn’t too much of a stretch. I started looking for […]


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 997 other followers

