#IndyFoodSwap Wassail

December 11, 2011 at 2:34 PM | Posted in I am creative., I am resourceful., Sometimes I cook. | 1 Comment
Tags: ,

I made a slow cooker full of wassail to share at the third Indy Food Swap yesterday. Many people seemed to enjoy it and a few asked what was in it, so I thought I’d post the recipe. To be honest, I just winged it (after looking for some inspiration online), especially since the version I planned to make had cranberry juice in it but I failed to buy some at the store when I picked up the apple cider.

Pre-Wassail Preparation
The first thing I did was make a quadruple batch of roasted cranberry-clove mixer, most of it as a gift for Suzanne. That left me with about 3 cups of roasted, cloved, candied cranberries (or what was left of them after I squeezed as much simple syrup out of them as possible).

Wassail Preparation
Then I put the following ingredients into a slow cooker:

3 c. roasted, cloved, candied cranberries (squeezed)
1 gal. apple cider
2 c. orange juice
⅓ c. honey
3 sticks cinnamon
1½ Tbsp. crystallized ginger
½ tsp. nutmeg
1 tsp. ground ginger

I let the whole mixture simmer on high for a couple of hours and then strained it. I brought the strained mixture to the swap, put it back into the slow cooker to reheat, and floated some fruit on top—one sliced orange, one sliced lime, and a handful of fresh cranberries.

Wassail Enjoyment
We ladled it into mugs and drank it warm. A few people said, “What is wassail?” A few people said, “I love wassail!” One person said she liked it, and had two cups, even though she doesn’t like mulled cider. Many people said they liked this version, hence the published recipe.

Wassail Postscript
My husband dug this spicy holiday punch too—I saved some for him—and joked that it would be one of those recipes that I would never be able to duplicate. He calls those my Picasso recipes because they are one-of-a-kind masterpieces. I did write down what I did so that it could be duplicated but I don’t know when I’ll have roasted, cloved, candied cranberries on hand again.

If I were to make this in the future, I would probably make the following substitutions:

  • Substitute 1 c. cranberry juice + ½ Tbsp. whole cloves for the roasted, cloved, candied cranberries, and increase the honey to ½ c.
  • Omit the crystallized ginger and increase the ground ginger to 2 tsp.

Love and joy come to you, and to you your wassail too…

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I love this idea. We are planning to hold a an event in the new year when we go wassailling in the newly planted orchard in order to guarantee a good crop of apples in the autumn. We were thinking of mulled wine or punch – I had no idea that there was an actual wassail recipe that we could use! I’ll let you know how it goes.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. | The Pool Theme.
Entries and comments feeds.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,026 other followers

